6000 kilometres
16 days
9 countries
6 bridges
1 rally

The Müngsten Bridge connects the two cities of Solingen and Remscheid. At 107 metres, it is the highest railway bridge in Germany and was built over 120 years ago. The technical wonder at the time is one of the landmarks of the Bergisches Land. For this reason, the cities of Solingen and Remscheid are trying to obtain UNESCO World Heritage status for the Müngsten Bridge. To increase the chances of success, they have joined forces with 5 other large arch bridges in Europe and submitted a joint application.

We, Timm and Marc, want to support the bridges and are therefore organising a rally across Europe for the 2nd time in August 2022.

Across the breathtaking Swiss mountains, through the sun-drenched plains of Italy and fragrant Provence, crossing the arid deserts of Spain, along the blue Douro to history-steeped Porto, back along the rugged Atlantic coast, through the colourful wine-growing region of Bordeaux, over the ups and downs of Alsace, back to Germany – 6,000 kilometres across Europe in cars and motorbikes older than 15 years or in an electric car with no age limit.

It’s not about top speed, but it will still be very exhausting and a real challenge for man and material. Every day you will drive an average of 375 kilometres over country roads and be on the road for about 10 hours. A real rally as a scavenger hunt through Europe.

It is planned that our Italian, French and Portuguese friends will join us during the tour and ride parts of it.

Would you like to join us? Then find one or more fellow riders and a rally car or form a team with your motorbike and register. You can find the rules and conditions under “Details”.

Do you have any questions? Talk to us.

Your

Timm and Marc

The bridges are the Ponte San Michele in Italy, the Viaduc de Garabit and the Viaduc du Viaur in France, the Ponte Marie Pia and the Ponte Dom Luis I both in Portugal and the Müngstener Brücke in Germany. The large arch bridges, as they are properly called, were all built at the end of the 19th century. Two of the six bridges were designed and built by Gustave Eiffel. All six large arch bridges are in their own way a magnificent feat of engineering.

Greeting from the patron of the Six Bridges Rally

Madame Myriam Larnaudie-Eiffel

Great-great-granddaughter of Gustave Eiffel

Dear participants of the Six Bridges Rally,

It is a great honour for me to stand by you as the patron of this rally and as the descendant of Gustave Eiffel, the builder of the Garabit Viaduct and the Ponte Maria Pia.

These two bridges are part of the joint application for the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the 6 Great Arch Bridges. This candidature is very important to underline the achievement made in the construction of these bridges and to pay tribute to their builders. It is also important for each of us and you will unite all these bridges on your journey!

I hope you enjoy your adventure across Europe and I look forward to meeting you soon.

Best regards

Myriam Larnaudie-Eiffel

Madame Eiffel

Myriam Larnaudie-Eiffel
Great-great-granddaughter of Gustave Eiffel

Greetings from the Patron of the Six Bridges Rally

Mr. Tim-O. Kurzbach

Lord Mayor of the City of Solingen

Dear participants,

Six bridges in four European countries want to become World Heritage Sites together. Our Klingenstadt Solingen in Germany is working closely with those responsible in France, Italy and Portugal to implement this great idea.

Timm Kronenberg and Marc Baehr are promoting the idea in their own way: they are organising the “Six Bridges Rally 2022”, which will connect all six bridges. The rally will be driven in proper style with older vehicles, as it is well known that the bridges are no longer the youngest.

As Lord Mayor of Solingen, I would be very pleased if you would support them in their endeavour – there are no limits to your ideas.

From bridge to bridge – connecting Europe.

Greetings from the blade city of Solingen in the Bergisches Land region

Tim-O. Kurzbach

Tim-O. Kurzbach
Lord Mayor of the Klingenstadt Solingen

Is the Six Bridges Rally too long for you?

Then take a look here:

6000 Kilometer
16 Tage
9 Länder
6 Brücken
1 Rallye

Die Müngstener Brücke verbindet die beiden Städte Solingen und Remscheid. Sie ist mit 107 Metern die höchste Eisenbahnbrücke Deutschlands und wurde vor über 120 Jahren erbaut. Das damalige technische Wunder ist eines der Wahrzeichen des Bergischen Landes. Aus diesem Grund versuchen die Städte Solingen und Remscheid den Welterbestatus der UNESCO für die Müngstener Brücke zu erlangen. Damit die Erfolgschancen höher sind, hat man sich mit 5 weiteren Großbogenbrücken in Europa zusammengeschlossen und gemeinsam einen Antrag gestellt. 

Wir, Timm und Marc, wollen die Brücken dabei unterstützen und veranstalten deshalb im August 2022 zum 2. Mal eine Rallye quer durch Europa.

Über die atemberaubenden Schweizer Berge, durch die sonnen-verwöhnten Ebenen Italiens und die duftende Provence, die trockenen Wüsten Spaniens querend, entlang des blauen Douros bis ins geschichtsträchtige Porto, zurück entlang der zerklüfteten Atlantikküste, durch das farbenfrohe Weinanbaugebiet der Bordeaux-Region, über das Auf und Ab im Elsass, wieder nach Deutschland – 6000 Kilometer quer durch Europa mit Autos und Motorrädern, die älter als 15 Jahre sind.

Es geht zwar nicht um Höchsgeschwindigkeit, aber es wird trotzdem sehr anstregend und eine echte Herausforderung für Mensch und Material. Jeden Tag fahrt Ihr im Schnitt 375 Kilometer über Landstraßen und seit ca. 10 Stunden auf der Straße. Eine echte Rallye als Schnitzeljagd durch Europa.

Es ist geplant, dass unsere italienischen, französischen und portugiesischen Freunde während der Tour zu uns stoßen und Teilstücke mitfahren.

Lust bekommen, mitzufahren? Dann suche Dir ein oder mehrere Mitfahrer und ein Rallye-Auto oder bilde ein Team mit Deinem Motorrad und melde Dich an. Die Regeln und Bedingungen findest Du unter dem Punkt „Details“.

Habt Ihr Fragen? Sprecht uns an.

Euer

Timm und Marc

Bei den Brücken handelt es sich um die Ponte San Michele in Italien, das Viaduc de Garabit und das Viaduc du Viaur in Frankreich, der Ponte Marie Pia und der Ponte Dom Luis I. beide in Portugal und die Müngstener Brücke in Deutschland. Die Großbogenbrücken, so die richtige Bezeichnung, wurden alle am Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts gebaut. Zwei der sechs Brücken wurden von Gustave Eiffel konstruiert und gebaut. Alle sechs Großbogenbrücken sind auf ihre Art und Weise eine großartige Leistung der Ingenieurskunst.

Grußwort der Schirmfrau der Six Bridges Rally

Madame Myriam Larnaudie-Eiffel

Ururenkelin von Gustave Eiffel

Liebe Teilnehmer der Six Bridges Rallye,

mir ist es eine große Ehre Ihnen als Schirmherrin dieser Rallye und als Nachkomme von Gustave Eiffel, dem Erbauer des Garabit-Viaduktes und der Ponte Maria Pia, zur Seite stehen.

Diese beiden Brücken sind Teil des gemeinsamen Antrags für das UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe der 6 Großbogenbrücken. Diese Kandidatur ist sehr wichtig, um die Leistung zu unterstreichen, die beim Bau dieser Brücken erzielt wurde und um ihren Bauherren Tribut zu zollen. Sie ist auch für jeden von uns wichtig und Sie werden auf Ihrer Reise all diese Brücken vereinen!

Ich hoffe, Sie genießen Ihr Abenteuer in ganz Europa und ich freue mich darauf, Sie bald zu treffen.

Lieben Gruß

Myriam Larnaudie-Eiffel

Madame Eiffel

Myriam Larnaudie-Eiffel
Ururenkelin von Gustave Eiffel

Grußwort des Schirmherrn der Six Bridges Rally

Herr Tim-O. Kurzbach

Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Solingen

Liebe Teilnehmer,

sechs Brücken in vier europäischen Ländern wollen gemeinsam Weltkulturerbe werden. An der Um­setzung dieser tollen Idee arbeitet unsere Klingenstadt Solingen in Deutschland mit den Verantwortli­chen in Frankreich, Italien und Portugal eng zusammen.

Timm Kronenberg und Marc Baehr werben auf ihre Weise dafür: Sie organisieren die „Six Bridges Rally 2022 „, die alle sechs Brücken miteinander verbindet. Gefahren wird stilecht mit älteren Fahr­zeugen, denn auch die Brücken sind bekanntlich nicht mehr die Jüngsten.

Als Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Solingen würde ich mich sehr freuen, wenn Sie die beiden bei ihrem Anliegen unterstützen würden – dabei sind Ihren Ideen keine Grenzen gesetzt.

Von Brücke zu Brücke – Europa verbinden.

Es grüßt Sie herzlich aus der Klingenstadt Solingen im Bergischen Land

Tim-O. Kurzbach

Tim-O. Kurzbach
Oberbürgermeister der Klingenstadt Solingen